English

English

iOS 15 shared with you – what is it and how it works

The Shared With You feature in iOS 15 brings some organizational order to the chaos of all your photos, links, and other content people send you through Messages. Now when someone texts you a photo or sends you the link to a website, it will still show up in Messages, but there is also a special Shared with you section in every relevant app that collects all of these shared items.

The idea behind Shared with You is that you don’t always have time to tap on a website link or enjoy a photo. Rather than having you go back in a conversation to find this shared content, Shared with You collects it in one easy-to-find place. Best of all, the links in the Shared with section let you reply to the sender, without having to go back to Messages. It’s very useful.

But because Shared with You is new, it takes a bit of getting used to, especially since the commenting feature isn’t obvious. Here’s a look at how Shared With You works and how you can use it to streamline your texting.

Where to find Shared with you in iOS 15

Shared with You is not tied to any app. Rather, it’s a section that appears in multiple apps – Photos, Safari, News, Podcasts, Music, and TV all support Shared with you. Whenever someone shares relevant content for that particular app, it will appear in the Shared with you section of that app. (In the case of links to news articles on the web, if that article is also available through the Apple News app, the link will appear in the Shared with you sections of that app as well as Safari.

Where Shared with You appears differs from app to app. Here’s a rundown of where to find it.

Shared with you appears in different iOS 15 apps like Safari, Photos, and TV

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

Pictures: Shared with you lives in the For You tab of the Photos app. You’ll have to scroll down to find it on your iPhone, as it’s under Memories & Featured Photos.

Safari: You’ll find Shared with You websites and links on the Safari start page. (This is the page that appears when you press the plus button on the address bar to open a new browser tab.) Shared With You is located just below your collection of frequently visited sites.

New: Content shared with you can be found in the main News tab. If you’re having a hard time finding it – there’s a lot to scroll down on News – you can go to the Next tab, where there’s a link to Stories shared with you.

Podcasts: The new Podcasts app places the Shared with You content just below the Next section which contains the latest episodes of your favorite podcasts.

TV: Links shared with you to TV shows and movies can be found on the Watch Now app of Apple’s TV app, although you’ll have to scroll down for a way to find them. I found the Shared with You section just below the Trending section, which already sits well below Apple’s promoted and curated content.

Music: The Listen Now tab hosts songs and playlists shared with you.

As noted above, when you view content shared with you in any of the apps that support it, you will be able to reply from that app without having to launch Messages. Here’s how the feature works, using Photos as an example.

1. In the Shared with you section, tap the photo you want to comment on.

Shared with you lets you comment on photos from the Photos app

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

2. The name of the person who shared the photo appears at the top of the screen. Tap the name.

Shared with you lets you comment on photos from the Photos app

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

3. A Messages type interface appears where you can type an answer. Send it as you would any other message.

Replies shared with you appear in messages

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

This reply will then appear in the Messages conversation as if you had sent it from the app.

Replies shared with you appear in messages

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

While we’re focusing on photos in this example, the process works the same in the Shared with you section of other apps. In Safari, for example, the name of the person who has shared a web page with you appears below the thumbnail of that page. Tap on the name and you will get the same Messages interface for replying or commenting on the article.

Shared with also lets you comment from Safari to get replies in Messages

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

How to pin content shared with you in iOS 15

Sometimes you want to keep track of something someone has shared with you in the Messages app itself. In iOS 15, you can pin this content to Messages to easily find it later. Here’s how.

1. Long press the content you want to pin.

Here's how to pin content shared with you

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

2. A pop-up menu will appear. Select Pin.

Here's how to pin content shared with you

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

3. If you need to find this content later, tap the search bar in Messages. A Pins section will give you direct access to everything you’ve pinned.

Here's how to pin content shared with you

(Image credit: TechToSee’s Guide)

More iOS 15 tutorials

.

Leave a Comment

Trending this Week