English

English

How to watch the 2021 London Marathon live online

It’s almost time to watch the London Marathon! The 41st edition of the race takes place today (Sunday October 3) with 50,000 runners set to take the iconic 26.2 mile route from Greenwich to The Mall.

The stage is set for a brilliant mass race. It’s been 889 days since the last mass-participation London Marathon due to coronavirus restrictions, so for many runners it’s the day they’ve been training for years.

London Marathon live stream, date, time, channels

The live broadcast of the London Marathon takes place today (Sunday October 3).
► Time: 8:50 a.m. BST / 3:50 a.m. ET / 12:50 a.m. PT
• United States – Watch on FloSports
• UK – Watch on BBC Two, BBC One and BBC Red Button
• Watch anywhere – try ExpressVPN 100% risk-free

In the elite race, the male winner of the 2020 London Marathon, Shura Kitata, will return to defend his title. Vincent Kipchumba and Sisay Lemma, who were also on the elite-only 2020 London Marathon podium, are also back in the race.

In the elite women’s category, defending champion Brigid Kosgei will try to win her third consecutive London marathon, following her Olympic silver medal at the Tokyo Olympics. Reigning New York Marathon winner Joyciline Jepkosgei, along with Ethiopian runners Roza Dereje and Birhane Dibaba, both of whom have marathon PRs of less than 2 hours 20 minutes, are also lined up at the start line.

In wheelchair racing, some of the world’s best wheelchair runners return to the streets of London. Defending champions Brent Lakatos and Nikita den Boer will both be on the starting line, as will David Weir, the most decorated athlete in London Marathon history, who will return to run his 22nd London Marathon in front of an audience. local.

If you’re looking for a runner in the mass participation race, you can expect to see them once the race kicks off at 9:30 a.m. BST. This year, the start of the mass participation race will be staggered between 9:30 am and 11:00 am BST to allow for greater social distancing along the route. The easiest way to keep tabs on your runner’s performance is to track them – here’s how to track runners in the London Marathon.

London Marathon departure times and times

The schedule for the day is as follows:

Elite wheelchair race8:50 a.m. BST / 3:50 a.m. ET / 12:50 a.m. PT

Start of Elite Women: 9:00 a.m. BST / 4:00 a.m. ET / 1:00 a.m. PT

Beginning of elite men and mass participation: 9:30 a.m. BST / 4:30 a.m. ET / 1:30 a.m. PT

How to watch the London Marathon live from anywhere

Coverage of the London Marathon will air on the BBC for most of the day in the UK, but if you’re not in the UK there are always ways to watch a friend or family member participate in the race (although you may have to set your alarm clock a little earlier than usual for a Sunday!)

The answer is to use a VPN, or virtual private network. A VPN will allow you to connect to your home coverage wherever you are, which means that if you are abroad, you can use one of the best VPN services to watch the matches live as if you were in your home. salon.

Our favorite right now is ExpressVPN, thanks to its combination of exceptional speed, great customer service, and great device support. It also offers a 30 day no questions asked money back guarantee, so you can check it out without having to sign up for the long term.

Speed, security and simplicity combine to make ExpressVPN our preferred VPN service. In our testing, we were impressed with its fast connection times and its ability to access over 3,000 services in 160 locations in 94 countries. Another bonus is a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Using a VPN is incredibly easy.

1. Install the VPN of your choice. As we said, ExpressVPN is our favorite.

2. Choose the location you want to connect to in the VPN app. For example, if you are in the UK and want to view US service, you select US from the list.

3. Sit back and enjoy the race. Head over to BBC Sport to stream the marathon.

How to watch the London Marathon in the UK

A slice of the British flag

(Image credit: Shutterstock)

If you are in the UK, coverage of the London Marathon will begin at 8:00 a.m. BST. From 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. BST, you’ll need to head to BBC Two to witness all of the action. Then the coverage will switch to BBC One from 10:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. BST. From 2:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. BST, you can watch the coverage on the BBC’s red button.

TO From 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. BST, highlights of the elite men’s and women’s races, as well as the mass participation races will be broadcast on BBC Two.

All of these covers are completely free.

Everything sounds good, right? But if you’re not in the UK, you can still follow live coverage of the London Marathon using one of the best VPN services, like ExpressVPN.

How to watch the London Marathon live in the US and Canada

A slice of the American flag

(Image credit: Shutterstock)

If you want to get up early and watch the London Marathon from the US, the easiest way to do that is to watch the live coverage on FloTrack.

To watch the race, you need to be a subscriber, which works out to $ 29.99 per month or $ 149.88 per year (which equates to $ 12.49 per month). You can unsubscribe at any time, so you can sign up now to watch the race and then cancel at the end of the month (FloTrack also broadcasts the Boston Marathon on October 11 and the Chicago Marathon on October 10, so you get a good value of your subscription).

Notes on VPN conditions and services

.

Leave a Comment

Trending this Week