English

English

How to watch a Russian film crew launch into the ISS this week

There is an unusual launch this week, as a Russian film crew heads to the International Space Station (ISS). A Russian Soyuz rocket will transport actress Yulia Peresild and producer Klim Shipenko as well as cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov to the station on Thursday, October 5, and the launch will be televised live by NASA. We have all the details on how to watch the event below.

What to expect from the launch

The Russian team will travel to the space station to shoot film scenes, in the first example of the station’s expanded marketing to include film making. It has been reported that NASA is planning to film parts of a movie at the space station, starring actor Tom Cruise, but the Russian production will be the first to try it. The film will be titled “Challenge” and is a cooperative production between the Russian space agency Roscosmos and Russian media companies.

The three crew members will travel aboard a Soyuz MS-19 spacecraft launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan early Thursday morning, travel to the station in the morning and dock at the station’s Rassvet module on the same. day.

Actress and producer Peresild and Shipenko will spend 12 days on the station filming and return to Earth with current ISS crew member Oleg Novitskiy on October 16. Shkaplerov will remain at the station as part of Expedition 66, along with current crew members from Roscosmos, NASA, the Japanese space agency JAXA and the European Space Agency.

How to watch the launch

The Soyuz MS-18 rocket is launched with NASA Expedition 65 astronaut Mark Vande Hei, Roscosmos Pyotr Dubrovnik cosmonauts and Oleg Novitskiy on Friday, April 9, 2021, at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.
The Soyuz MS-18 rocket is launched with NASA Expedition 65 astronaut Mark Vande Hei, Roscosmos Pyotr Dubrovnik cosmonauts and Oleg Novitskiy on Friday, April 9, 2021, at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. NASA / Bill Ingalls

NASA will broadcast live the launch as well as the docking of the Soyuz to the space station. You can watch either using the embedded video at the top of this page or by heading to the NASA website.

Launch is scheduled for 4:55 a.m. ET (1:55 a.m. PT) on October 5, with coverage starting at 4:15 a.m. ET (1:15 a.m. PT). Docking to the space station is scheduled for 8:12 a.m. ET (5:12 a.m. PT) with coverage beginning at 7:30 a.m. ET (4:30 a.m. PT).

.

Leave a Comment

Trending this Week